Image of a sun stone

Unit 3: When Is the Future?

Week 9

Tuesday, October 25

Thursday, October 27 (am)

Thursday, October 27 (pm)

  • Plenary: Stuplimity, Every Icon, Universal Paperclip, and The Long Now Foundation

Week 10

Tuesday, November 1

Thursday, November 3 (am)

  •  Nick Estes, Our History is the Future (“Prophets” and “Siege”); #NODAPL
  • Discussion Section: Indigenous climate activism and climate future

Thursday, November 3 (pm)

Week 11

Tuesday, November 8

  • Susan Schneider, Artificial You, Intro and chapters 1-4
  • Plenary: Introduction to the A.I. Apocalypse; mini-lectures and small group discussions

Thursday, November 10 (am)

  • Susan Schneider, Artificial You, Intro and chapters 5-7
  • Discussion Section: Students discuss The AI apocalypse. Sections will generate questions for the afternoon session.

Thursday, November 10 (pm)

Week 12

Monday, November 14            

Tuesday, November 15

Thursday, November 17 (am)

Thursday, November 17 (pm)

Week 13

Digital Learning Team and Thanksgiving

Week 14

Tuesday, November 29

Thursday, December 1 (am)

Thursday, December 1 (pm)

Week 15

Tuesday, December 6

Thursday, December 8 (am)

Thursday, December 8 (pm)

  • Sonic Futures: The Music of Afrofuturism [Alondra Nelson, George Clinton, Nona Hendryx, and Vernon Reid]
  • Listen: Drexciya, “Drifting into a Time of No Future” (1999); Flying Lotus, “Dance of the Pseudo Nymph” (2010); Janelle Monáe, “Electric Lady” (2013); Janelle Monáe, “Q.U.E.E.N.” (feat. Erykah Badu) (2013)
  • Plenary: Sonic Afrofuturism’s Futures

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

css.php